eToro Copy Trading: 3 Months Later

Good day, I created an account with eToro Malaysia three months ago and have posted a number of videos online to share my experience and views on its “copy trading” tools. Because I’m new to copy trading, I opened a demo account to learn and practice without putting real money at risk. In this video, I’ll talk you through what I did and the money I made.

As you can see in the video, I’ve invested in both what eToro calls “Copy Traders” and “CopyPortfolios”. With a “CopyPortfolio”, you can invest in a portfolio of shares, managed by eToro itself. Shares are grouped into themes, such as self-driving cars, clean energy and gene editing. Personally, I invested in eToro’s clean energy portfolio, which captures a spans solar energy, wind energy, geo-thermal energy and others. I like that these themes target industries of the future.

Alternatively, you can follow and copy individual traders. If you are confident in your skills, you can allow others to follow you and even get paid for it. To copy others, click the “Copy People” on the right handside of the page. This will take you through to a screener where you can search and filter traders to find the right one for you. Once you’ve find someone you like, decide what percentage of your portfolio you’d like to set aside to copy them, and eToro will take care of the rest.

I invested in self-driving cars and clean energy because these sectors are growing now, and will contine to grow in the years ahead. In some ways, I find self-driving cars scary but it’s undeniable that they are the future, alongside electric vehicles. Clean energy is another sector that’s experiencing rapid growth, as governments around the world throw their weight behind it. On a personal note, the few renewable stocks I’ve invested in have performed extremely well, which gives me more confidence to invest in this sector.

Since I opened a demo account with eToro, my portfolio is up 9% in just three months. My renewable energy CopyPortfolio was the best performing, followed by several individual traders. All in, I’ve generated a profit in excess of $1,000. I’m especially happy with this, as it required very little time and effort on my behalf. I spent a bit of time researching portfolios and traders, but already had a clear view on the funds I wanted to invest in, from the outset. Once I’d made my initial allocations, eToro and the traders I’m following made the day-to-day buying decisions, without any interventions from me.

I should add that profits aren’t guaranteed of course, and that past performance isn’t guaranteed to continue in the future. You should also be aware that eToro’s risk warning indicates that 75% of retail investor accounts lost money when trading CFDs with this provider. And you should consider whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. This content is not investment advice, and is only for educational purposes.